Welcome 2013!

New Year 2013

Welcome to a New Year!

It’s a fresh start to what I hope will be another productive writing year. I reviewed my 2012 goals and was pleased to see I accomplished almost all of them. Here’s a recap of the highlights:

– Finished editing 2nd MS and pitched at 2 conferences

– Began writing the 3rd story in my Taking Chances series during NJRW’s JeRoWriMo

– Finished replotting & revising (again) my 1st MS

– Finaled and won FIRST place in 2 writing contests (The Write Stuff and Indiana Golden Opportunity)

– Blogged monthly with the Violet Femmes, which included writing a short story for Valentine’s Day and two round robin stories

– Read new authors (read 68 books & 14 audio books)

– Continued to network with friends & other authors to improve my craft

Not a bad list. Here’s some new items I’d like to accomplish in 2013:

1. Continue my pursuit of an agent and/or editor.

2. Finish my third MS.

My wish for all of you is to have a happy and healthy New Year. May all your dreams (writing and otherwise) come true!

6 thoughts on “Welcome 2013!

  1. Happy New Year, Maria! You are so humble, too. I give you so much credit getting up so EARLY every day to spend time weaving your wonderful stories and working on getting published. You’ve had many successes in 2012, that I just know 2013 is going to be a lucky year – and hey, that’s all it takes is a bit of luck when you have strong writing and the kind of commitment you have to this business.

    Cheers, hugs, and happy writing!
    Michele

    • Thanks for your support, Michele. 2012 was a good year and I’m confident 2013 will continue the good trend. Having good friends helps, especially when I can see the fruits of their labor achieved. Especially yours!

  2. Maria, I am not surprised by your accomplishments! I know when you set your mind to do something you get it done! I know 2013 will be an awesome year for you. But please tell me, how did you accomplish reading 68 books! What’s your secret?

    • Thanks for the vote of confidence! I was surprised by the 68 books. I squeeze in reading whenever I can. If I’m cooking and am waiting for something to finish, I read for 5 min. At the doctor’s office, I read either on my Nook or my iPhone. Wherever I am that allows me a few minutes, I take advantage of it. Being a quick reader helps, too.

Leave a Reply

